Gluten-free is a new trend in the health and fitness industry. These varieties let you enjoy your favorite foods without any guilt or health implications. A wide variety of gluten-free pasta is available in the market to offer an alternative to those who want to avoid gluten for health, medical or other reasons.
So, is gluten-free pasta plant based? Yes, gluten-free pasta is plant based because it is mostly made out of grains and doesn’t contain any animal-based ingredients. Gluten-free pasta is generally made using flours from grains like rice, corn, quinoa or potatoes, chickpeas and others. The only exception is a gluten-free pasta variety that contains eggs or other animal fats.
Below, let us discuss all you should know about what gluten-free pasta contains so that you can find out whether you can include it in your plant-based diet.
Why Gluten-Free Pasta is Plant-Based?
Gluten-free pasta is generally made using flours from grains like rice, corn, quinoa or potatoes, chickpeas and others. As these grains are plant-based and make most of the food, it is easy to consider gluten-free pasta plant-based.
While some varieties can contain animal products like eggs, most of them are free of such components and are ideal for any plant-based diet. However, it is important that you check the ingredients list to make sure the pasta you buy contains only plant-based ingredients.
What Are The Main Ingredients in Gluten Free Pasta?
While traditional pasta is made out of whole wheat, semolina or refined flour, gluten-free pasta is free of these ingredients. The ingredients used in gluten free pasta vary depending on the brand. Some of the most common constituents of this pasta are corn, rice, quinoa and oats.
Gluten free pasta contains one or more of these flours and other ingredients like corn starch, olive oil and other binding agents. While most gluten-free pasta is plant-based, some manufacturers add eggs and other animal fats, so it is best to check the label before purchasing.
Gluten-Free Pasta Nutrition
There are several options for gluten-free pasta, varying in nutritional value along with taste and texture. The most popular option is brown rice pasta popular for its chewy texture and mild flavor. This pasta is a good source of fiber as compared to other varieties. Brown rice is also high in other minerals like magnesium, selenium and manganese.
Another popular type of gluten-free pasta is that made out of chickpea. It is high in protein and keeps you fuller for longer. Quinoa pasta is also a good option for gluten-free pasta often known for its grainy texture and nutty flavor. Quinoa, its main ingredient, is popular for its rich nutrient profile and health benefits.
Here is the nutritional information for three popular types of gluten-free pasta.
|Variety of pasta||Brown Rice||Chickpea||Quinoa|
So, if you want to enjoy pasta on a plant-based diet, you can do so without any concern. While most gluten-free pasta is plant-based and provides an excellent source of dietary nutrients, you should cook them in a way that suits your diet. Always check the ingredients before buying the pasta and make sure you eat them in moderation with nutritious foods to keep up with your health goals.